Concealed Carry Weapon License Requirements: must meet ALL requirements
California Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 provide that a Sheriff of a county or the Chief or other head of municipal police department of any city, or city and county, may issue a license to carry a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed upon the person (Concealed Carry Weapon license).
Who May be Issued a License
The licensing authority specified in Penal Code sections 26150 and 26155 may issue a license to persons who are of good moral character meet residential requirements, and have completed a course of training. All applicants for a Concealed Carry Weapon license will be fingerprinted and state and federal records will be checked to determine if they are eligible to possess firearms. Click here to view all categories that would prohibit a person from possessing firearms and being granted a Concealed Carry Weapon license.
Prior to Filling Out This Application
- Be prepared to scan a copy of your valid California Driver’s license or California Identification card, which reflects your current Solano County address.
- Be prepared to scan copies of two (2) current and consecutive utility bills/statements that are in your name and reflect your current address in Solano County. If you do not have utility bills in your name, residency documentation provided must be a monthly recurring bill. Mortgage statements and annual bills are NOT accepted. Past due bills/statements are NOT accepted.
- Be sure that each firearm you plan on listing on your Concealed Carry Weapon license is on record in the state of California in your name or your spouse’s name.
Completing the Application
Answering all the questions on this standard application does not guarantee the issuance of a Concealed Carry Weapon license. The determination whether to issue the license is at the discretion of the licensing authority.
The following pages include standardized questions that assist in the determination as to whether a Concealed Carry Weapon license may be issued. In addition to answering these questions, the applicant will be interviewed and go through a background investigation.
The applicant will certify under penalty of perjury that all answers provided in the application are true and correct to the best of their knowledge and belief. The applicant will also acknowledge that information disclosed on this application may be subject to public disclosure.
If applying for a NEW Concealed Carry Weapon license a course approved by the Solano County Sheriff’s Office must be completed prior to permit issuance. This course will be a minimum of 8 hours and a maximum of 16 hours.
If applying for a RENEWAL Concealed Carry Weapon license, a 4 hour course approved by the Solano County Sheriff’s Office must be completed prior to permit issuance.
If applying for a MODIFICATION to your current Concealed Carry Weapon license that includes a firearm change, you will need to submit training certifications from a traning vendor approved by the Solano County Sheriff’s Office.